Parents Meeting Recap and updates

Last night’s parents meeting was mostly a planning meeting for some upcoming field trips and events, but Randal Smathers (Assistant Director of the Rutland Free Library) visited our group to point us toward some under-utilized resources provided by the library. He also asked for our feedback and suggestions regarding how the library could support homeschoolers. One of the big goals of the library is to support education/literacy in the community, so they are eager to help our group. If you have any suggestions or requests, please make them known. Randal also distributed June Osowski’s cards so that we had her contact information also. She would like to make sure we know that she can be a resource, herself.

Most of the library’s online resources can be found here. Now that I think of it, I may ask if Randal would like to contribute a post for this website dedicated entirely to the library’s resources.

Regarding upcoming events…A trip to the Coolidge Estate is in the works for early/mid October. If you would like to attend, please let me know. We haven’t chosen a date, but will likely formalize this by or before the next parents meeting, which is September 15.

We also discussed plans to attend Castleton Arts Reach events.  There are some very interesting-looking performances scheduled, and if you’d like to be included in our reservation, please let me know.  You can find the performance schedule and descriptions if you click on the link in the sidebar to the right (or just above in the link text).  One of our group parents has a contact at Castleton that may facilitate our attendance.

I took a little closer look at the Fort Ticonderoga website, which indicated that anyone hoping to attend the homeschool day on September 5 should have a reservation.  Some families are handling this on their own, others are making a group reservation.  If you’d like to be included in the group reservation, please let me know ASAP.  I am expecting to hear back from their contact today and will give her the information as soon as I can.  At this time, there are 13 of us in my group, and two additional families handling things independently.

Co-op planning probably deserves its own post, so stay tuned for that a little later!

A little note about this website…I want to simplify things a little bit, and I feel like this is a better forum than the facebook group for keeping people informed, not least because there are lots of folks who don’t use facebook.  I also have my own little hangups about the facebook group.  So, I’m not going to post event notifications there anymore, most of the time.  I might post a reminder about a parent meeting or a park day, but not about field trips and co-op stuff.  Anyone reading this is welcome to share information there, as well as link to this website, it’s just not going to be me who does it.  One big reason for this is that I feel like I need to limit the amount of work I am doing to promote this stuff.  One website is probably enough work for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoy this, but it is actually work and takes a bit of time, which we all know is limited.

With that said, this website is not just supposed to be my own ramblings.  It’s really for all of us.  Please make use of the commenting function to participate in planning and discussing things (and let us all know that you’re here).  It would be really helpful!  And please, share this website link with anyone you feel may benefit from it.  There are quite a few people that I know of whose email addresses I do not possess, and I really would like everyone in our community to know this is here and what we are doing to create and nurture a homeschool community in this area.    Lastly, if you are reading this, please let me know if it is ok to refer to you/your family members by name in this space, and if you are ok with the posting of photos including you and/or your family members.  In the event that this is ok, please also indicate if any text accompanying the photos should or should not identify you  by your first name.  Thank you!

Phew, that’s a lot for one post.  Feedback is most welcome, and thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Parents Meeting Recap and updates

  1. TY Amanda, I know it’s a bunch of work and appreciate your time. Reid is excited about his first year of HS and looks forward to many events within the community. Happy to have him in pictures too. It’s all good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

